May 1, 2014

Oneida County STOP DWI Program Recognize’s Law Enforcement Officers

News Photo

The Oneida County STOP DWI Program said thank you, today to the men and women who protect our roadways with a Recognition breakfast, which was held at MVCC. The breakfast is designed to honor individual officers and Police Agencies in Oneida County for their outstanding DWI Enforcement efforts.

“Today we recognize those Police Officers who save countless lives by preventing, deterring, and removing intoxicated motorists form Oneida County roadways”, Picente said. “This event is a way we can publically thank some of our Law Enforcement for keeping us all safe, especially with summer time vastly approaching.

This event recognized a Police Officer from each agency (with the Joseph D. Corr Memorial Award) in Oneida County for their outstanding DWI enforcement efforts in year 2013. In addition the STOP DWI Program’s Perpetual Agency award, the William M. Weber Accident Reconstruction Award and the Michael C. Austin Community Service Award where also presented. A newly established Oneida County Sheriff’s Law Enforcement Foundation award was presented, as well.

The breakfast was moved from its original December date, to coincide with the upcoming Ted Moore STOP DWI Run/Walk, which takes place this Saturday, which will feature a Law Enforcement Challenge.

The Award winners:

The Joseph D. Corr Memorial Ward:

Boonville: Officer David J. Humphries, 11
Camden: Officer Matthew Hoffman
Kirkland: Officer James Zwijacs
New Hartford: Officer James M. Hyatt, 11
NY Mills: Officer Guy Danella
NYS Police: Trooper Jamie Gallagher
OC Sheriff’s Dept Deputy Aaron Avard
Oriskany: Officer David Humphries
Rome: PTLM Hollie Kennedy
Vernon: Greg Sanborn
Whitestown: Officer Mathew Zabek
Whitesboro: PTLM Mitchell Grogan
Utica: Officer Charles Parkosewwich

Yorkville: Officer Benny Rotundo Jr.

William M. Weber Memorial Award for Excellence in Crash Reconstruction:

Sgt Greg Facciolo – Utica Police Department

Inv John “Jay” LaFayette

Perpetual Agency Award:

City of Utica Police Department

Oneida County Sheriff’s Law Enforcement DWI Investigative Excellence Award:

New York State Police: Inv Jason A Thomas; Inv Jacob C. Byron

Oneida County Partners