May 2, 2019

Oneida County STOP-DWI Program Announces Annual Law Enforcement Award Winners

News Photo

UTICA — The Oneida County STOP-DWI Program today announced the law enforcement award winners at its 25th Annual Recognition Breakfast at Mohawk Valley Community College’s Utica campus.

The event — which is sponsored by the Oneida County Sheriff’s Law Enforcement Foundation — is designed to honor individual officers and police agencies for their commitment to the STOP-DWI mission.

“Today we recognize those police officers who save countless lives by removing intoxicated motorists from Oneida County roadways and deterring others from getting behind the wheel under the influence of alcohol and drugs,” said Oneida County Executive Anthony J. Picente Jr. “While we appreciate their efforts each and every day, this annual event is a way we can publically thank some of our law enforcement members for the fine work they do in keeping us safe.”

“I would like to thank all of the deputies, troopers, and police officers who work tirelessly to keep our roadways safe,” said Oneida County Sheriff Robert M. Maciol, who also serves as chairman of the Oneida County Sheriff’s Law Enforcement Foundation. “The board members of the Oneida County Sheriff’s Law Enforcement Foundation proudly sponsor this breakfast as a way to show our appreciation for the commitment and dedication of our county’s law enforcement members.”

“This event is a small way for us to show our thanks, not only for what our local law enforcement members do for our STOP-DWI efforts, but for all they do for our community,” said Oneida County STOP-DWI Coordinator David Tomidy.

Those awarded for their efforts in 2018 were:

  • Oneida County Outstanding DWI Law Enforcement Awards (awarded to individual officers for outstanding DWI enforcement efforts)
    • Trooper David Todora, New York State Police
    • Officer Kyle Murphy, Utica Police Department
    • Mark Edick, Oneida County Probation Department & Monitor for the Ignition Interlock Program
    • Officer Michael Firley, Whitestown Police Department
    • Officer Hollie Kennedy, Rome Police Department
    • Sgt. Robert Frankland, New York Mills Police Department
    • Officer W. Jason Freiberger, New Hartford Police Department
    • Officer Mitchell Grogan, Whitesboro Police Department
    • Deputy Brett Grabeldinger, Oneida County Sheriff’s Office
    • Officer Scott Bush, Kirkland Police Department
    • Officer Thomas Guca, Yorkville Police Department
    • Officer Shawn Redden, Camden Police Department
  • William M. Weber Memorial Award for Excellence in Crash Reconstruction
    • Officer W. Jason Freiberger, New Hartford Police Department
  • Michael C. Austin Community Service Award
    • Sgt. Terry Gilbert, Oneida County Sheriff’s Office Community Affairs Unit
Oneida County Partners