May 13, 2024

2nd Annual Oneida County STOP-DWI Baseball & Softball Classic a Big Hit

News Photo

The 2nd Annual Oneida County STOP DWI High School Baseball and Softball Classic took place on May 10th and 11th at Hamilton College as 16 local high school baseball and softball teams took to the field.

More than 1,500 people attended the free two-day event which is designed to expand Oneida County STOP-DWI’s mission of making more youth aware of the terrible consequences that result when people make destructive decisions. Those attendees, along with the participating teams’ players and coaches took advantage of educational presentations by county partners.

The New York State Department of Transportation gave presentations on pedestrian driving safety and work zone safety. The New York State Police used their seatbelt convincer and presented on all aspects of wearing a seat belt properly. Helio Health presented on the evils of alcohol and tobacco use and students. The Oneida County Sheriff’s Office presented on the dangers of distracted driving, Oneida County Health Department food for fuel and energize the body. The Health Department also provided information on the dangers of tick bites and treatments. The Center for Family Life and Recovery presented on the dangers of drug use and the opioid crisis.

Game Results: Baseball


Rome Free Academy 8, Proctor 4       

Michael Flint- MVP

Michael Olivadoti - Sportsmanship Award


Westmoreland  7, Oriskany  6              

Anthony Sawanec II – MVP

Dean Koenig- Sportsmanship Award


New Hartford 15, Notre Dame 1            

Johnny Vitullo – MVP


Thomas Carville - Sportsmanship Award

Holland Patent 8, Clinton 1   

Alex Hoole – MVP

Kyle Majka- Sportsmanship Award


Game Results: Softball


Rome Free Academy 11, Proctor 1     

Kennedy Campbell – MVP

Adrianna Peterson- Sportsmanship Award

Oriskany 7, Westmoreland 6                   

Kaelyn Buehler - MVP

Jenna Tyczynski- Sportsmanship Award

 Notre Dame 5, New Hartford 4               

  • Vita Waters – MVP
  • Addison Way - Sportsmanship Award

Herkimer 11, Mount Markham 5          


Leah Bray - MVP


Abby Schoonover - Sportsmanship Award

Oneida County Partners