Oneida County STOP-DWI Program Announces Annual Law Enforcement Award Winners

The Oneida County STOP-DWI Program today announced the law enforcement award winners at its 24th Annual Recognition Breakfast at Mohawk Valley Community College’s Utica campus.

The event — which is sponsored by the Oneida County Sheriff’s Law Enforcement Foundation — is designed to honor individual officers and police agencies for their commitment to the STOP-DWI mission.

“Today we recognize those police officers who save countless lives by removing intoxicated motorists from Oneida County roadways and deterring others from getting behind the wheel under the influence of alcohol and drugs,” said Oneida County Executive Anthony J. Picente Jr. “While we appreciate their efforts each and every day, this annual event is a way we can publically thank some of our law enforcement members for the fine work they do in keeping us safe.”

“This event is a small way for us to show our thanks, not only for what our local law enforcement members do for our STOP-DWI efforts, but for all they do for our community,” said Oneida County STOP-DWI Coordinator Thomas Giruzzi.

“I would like to thank all of the deputies, troopers, and police officers who work tirelessly to keep our roadways safe,” said Oneida County Sheriff Robert M. Maciol, who also serves as chairman of the Oneida County Sheriff’s Law Enforcement Foundation. “The board members of the Oneida County Sheriff’s Law Enforcement Foundation proudly sponsor this breakfast as a way to show our appreciation for the commitment and dedication of our county’s law enforcement members.”

Those awarded for their efforts in 2017 were:

  • Joseph D. Corr Memorial Award (awarded to individual officers for outstanding DWI enforcement efforts)
    • Kirkland Police Officer Christopher Gregory
    • New Hartford Police Officer Annemarie Brelinsky
    • New York Mills Officer Guy Danella
    • New York State Police Trooper Brendon Lalor
    • Oneida County Probation Officer Tracy Hemming
    • Oneida County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Aaron Silverman
    • Rome Police Officer Hollie Kennedy
    • Whitestown Police Officer David Humphries
    • Whitesboro Police Officer Mitchell Grogan
    • Utica Police Officer Aaron Donaldson
  • William M. Weber Memorial Award for Excellence in Crash Reconstruction
    • New York State Police Investigator Brett Yorgey
  • Perpetual Agency Award
    • Oneida County Probation Department
  • Michael C. Austin Community Service Award
    • Awarded posthumously to retired New York Mills Police Chief and former Whitestown Police Officer Bradley Frankland for his commitment to the organization and oversight of the New York Mills High School after prom party. This would have been the 20th consecutive year organizing the event for Frankland, who passed away in September 2017.